January Wrap-Up: A month of Relaxation and Productivity

Before shifting to only reviews around 2019-2020, I used to write monthly wrap-ups and opinion pieces but somehow I started posting them on Instagram and then Tumblr. I thought this week why not start posting them here as well? Here are my thoughts on starting a new year and being forcefully productive:

Significant fictional works and academic books/papers are my go-to but when I’m too exhausted to function, I read lots of graphic novels in a row. This is exactly what I’ve done the whole month besides trying to finish some papers in a row without any break. They’re much easier to read after a very exhausting time due to their relaxing nature with illustrations flowing through the pages. This month, my favourites were Sheets and Delicates because the drawings were so vividly painted with pastel colours and the story was developed in an exciting way. January in Japan was also running, from that my favourite book is Strange Weather in Tokyo but I’m still reading the others this month. Besides that one, I’ve read Snow Country but it was not at all what I expected storywise. The main character was so desperately existing with nothing but superficial thoughts. Even though his character annoyed me at my core, the descriptions of the Onsen, mountainside, and life outside of civilization were excellent in representing the melancholy and meaninglessness of life.

Do you ever feel like words don’t make too much sense and you’re just trying to combine them in a way that, they’re more meaningful? I’m having that period of time right now but last month was extremely busy with lots of papers to finish for my MA finals. At the end of that period, my mind was muddy and drained of words. Somehow that forces a person to take the break they need and enjoy doing nothing. With February coming, it’ll be a month of research and having cosy nights in. Below, you’ll find the books and films I’ve dived in. Planning to squeeze in a few reviews of the films I’ve written on last month as well. Don’t forget to keep an eye on here.

Books
Strange Weather in Tokyo by Hiromi Kawakami

Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata

Crush by Richard Siken

The Flower Witch by Enrico Orlandi

Sheets by Brenna Thummler

Delicates by Brenna Thummler

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel

Films

The Tragedy of Macbeth by Joel Coen

Encanto by Byron Howard, Jared Bush

Bergman Island by Mia Hansen-Løve

The Farewell by Lulu Wang

Burning by Lee Chang-dong

Belfast by Kenneth Branagh

Whiplash by Damien Chazelle

Theater of War by John W. Walter

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑